BasicMicroUK - Forums

www.basicmicro.co.uk
It is currently Wed Oct 17, 2018 12:22 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Quick Q - what is the max current draw possible on ARC32 pin
PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2013 7:03 pm 
Offline
Guru

Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 9:34 pm
Posts: 73
Hello!

What is the max current draw possible on ARC32 pins ? I know I can connect LEDs to it.

I am trying to hookup a audio amp http://blog.moderndevice.com/2012/08/09/new-product-audio-amplifier-lm4889/ as the speakers I connect directly are not loud!

Thanks
Gopal


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quick Q - what is the max current draw possible on ARC32
PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2013 10:51 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2001 7:00 pm
Posts: 1316
Location: Temecula, CA
The I/O pins can drive a couple ma. THey shouldnt' be used to drive anything directly without current limiting(eg the resistor you use with a LED).

_________________
Tech Support
Basic Micro - Robotic Technology Evolved


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quick Q - what is the max current draw possible on ARC32
PostPosted: Fri Mar 29, 2013 4:13 pm 
Offline
Guru

Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 9:34 pm
Posts: 73
Acidtech wrote:
The I/O pins can drive a couple ma. THey shouldnt' be used to drive anything directly without current limiting(eg the resistor you use with a LED).

Thanks Nathan,
I am told that the amp draws about 10ma at rest - so probably it is not good to power it from the servo pins right ? :)
I will have to draw the power from may be the supply connections ? I don't think there are any pins that supply the 5V as it comes out of the regulator at full power on the ARC32 ?

Regards
Gopal


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quick Q - what is the max current draw possible on ARC32
PostPosted: Tue Apr 09, 2013 7:48 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2001 7:00 pm
Posts: 1316
Location: Temecula, CA
Yes, you wont be able to drive it directly then.

_________________
Tech Support
Basic Micro - Robotic Technology Evolved


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quick Q - what is the max current draw possible on ARC32
PostPosted: Wed Apr 10, 2013 2:17 pm 
Offline
Master

Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 5:34 pm
Posts: 662
I may be confused here, but are you talking about the current draw from the IO pin or from the +5v power pin that goes to the board? My guess is most of the power draw would be from the +5v...

Kurt


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quick Q - what is the max current draw possible on ARC32
PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2013 11:50 am 
Offline
Guru

Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 9:34 pm
Posts: 73
My question was about the header pins - not the power supply connections.
I will have to power any auxiliary items such as the amp and a 3.3v accelerometer using a separate power supply (may be connected to the Vs or another battery). I have ordered the Black Wing 3.3V/5V supply that seems promising - no idea how much current it can deliver as there seem to be no specs!
Thanks
Gopal


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quick Q - what is the max current draw possible on ARC32
PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2013 9:26 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2001 7:00 pm
Posts: 1316
Location: Temecula, CA
The header pins consist of I/O pins, Vcc and Gnd pins. If you are drawing from Vcc/Gnd you can draw upto a couple amps. But the I/O pins can only source/sink approx. 5ma.

_________________
Tech Support
Basic Micro - Robotic Technology Evolved


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quick Q - what is the max current draw possible on ARC32
PostPosted: Tue Apr 16, 2013 3:18 pm 
Offline
Guru

Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 9:34 pm
Posts: 73
Acidtech wrote:
The header pins consist of I/O pins, Vcc and Gnd pins. If you are drawing from Vcc/Gnd you can draw upto a couple amps. But the I/O pins can only source/sink approx. 5ma.

Thanks Nathan - I am going to get one of these small power supplies and connect them to Vcc/GND and draw from there - just to make sure that I get only 5V or 3.3v (instead of 6V from the battery).
Gopal


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

phpBB SEO