www.basicmicro.co.uk
It is currently Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:30 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: C Library for ARC32?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2011 11:41 pm 
New User

Hi All,

Any word on a C library for the ARC32?

Personally, I'm a C/C++ programmer and feel much more comfortable in C than in BASIC. I have owned an ARC32 for awhile now, and have yet to come across a library specific to this board. I can work in BASIC, but honestly it's just not my preference to. One of the attractions for me to pick the ARC32 over some of the other offerings out there was support for C, not to mention the amazing list of features it has. :)

I understand the attraction for many people of the BASIC and that this language is the primary one for the Basic Micro line. I am not looking to get into a discussion about the pros/cons of one language over another. Each language has a role to fill, and each fulfills there role spectacularly in my opinion. There are several threads on this forum that approach C for Basic Micro products and it seems like they always turn into *that* "pros/cons-of-each" discussion~ I'm just curious if anything is in the works or if we'll see some more support for C in the future.

So, any chance we'll see a C library for the ARC32?

Post subject: Re: C Library for ARC32?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 1:01 am 
Master

There have been a few of us that have played around with this. I have a few different threads that mention it up on the Lynxmotion website, such as:
http://www.lynxmotion.net/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=6196 (Running Phoenix code on Bap28).